OKC Thunder Players and Coaches Revealed as Rewards Finalists

The Oklahoma City Thunder (57-25) are coming off a successful – and historic – season in the 2023-2024 season. The OKC Thunder are the youngest No. 1 seed in NBA history and to get there they have seen a plethora of award finalists this season, as revealed on the TNT pregame show ahead of Game 1.

Thunder bench boss Mark Daigneault, who already brought home the NBA Coaches Association, has officially been named a Coach of the Year finalist for the media-voted award. Daigneault shares the vote with Magic coach Jamahl Mosley and Timberwolves coach Chris Finch.

After finishing fifth for the Most Valuable Player Award last season, superstar Shai Gilgeous-Alexander has been included as a top three player and is on the finalist list for MVP and the NBA’s Most Valuable Player award. Gilgeous-Alexander is joined by Nikola Jokic and Luka Doncic for MVP honors, while Demar DeRozan and Steph Curry are listed as Clutch Player of the Year finalists.

Finally, rookie big man Chet Holmgren has been listed as a finalist for rookie of the year, despite Victor Wembanyama being the odd favorite to take home the honor.

Next up, the Oklahoma City Thunder will take on the New Orleans Pelicans in Game 1 of the first round NBA Playoffs. This is the first home playoff game for the Thunder since 2019.

Would you like to join the discussion? Like Inside the Thunder on Facebook and follow us on twitter to stay up to date with the latest Thunder news. You can also meet the team behind the reporting.